IDCCA endorses Congressman Keith Ellison for DNC Chairman

//IDCCA endorses Congressman Keith Ellison for DNC Chairman

For Immediate Release

January 4, 2017
Media Advisory
Contact: Dan Kovats, IDCCA Executive Director
(773) 351-7818

Illinois Democratic County Chairmen’s Association endorses Congressman Keith Ellison for DNC Chairman, Paves way for growing list of Illinois Endorsements

Springfield, IL – The 2016 General Election sent a clear signal to the Democratic Party. Voters are calling for change. Focusing on growing the middle class and addressing economic issues, such as living wages for the underpaid and underemployed, needs to be at the core of what the Democratic Party stands for. That is why the Executive Board of the Illinois Democratic County Chairmen’s Association has voted to endorse Congressman Keith Ellison for Chairman of the Democratic National Committee.

Along with the IDCCA endorsement, there is a growing list of leaders from Illinois who believe Congressman Keith Ellison is the right person for the job. Including:

  • Councilmember Aaron Ammons (Urbana, Ward 3)
  • State Rep. Carol Ammons (District 103)
  • Alderman John Arena (Chicago, 45th Ward)
  • State Senator Omar Aquino (District 2)
  • Chairman Joe Berrios (Cook County Democratic Party)
  • State Senator Daniel Biss (District 9)
  • US Senator Tammy Duckworth
  • City Clerk Nyota Figgs (Calumet City)
  • Commissioner Jesus “Chuy” Garcia (Cook County Board of Commissioners)
  • Congressman Luis Gutierrez (IL-4)
  • State Rep. Will Guzzardi (District 39)
  • Chairman Nasr Jahangir (Wayne Township Democratic Committee)
  • Chairman Gary Kleppe (York Township Democratic Committee)
  • Congressman Raja Krishnamoorthi (IL-8)
  • State Rep. Theresa Mah (District 2)
  • Alderwoman Deb Mell (Chicago, 33rd Ward)
  • Alderman Ricardo Munoz (Chicago, 22nd Ward)
  • County Clerk David Orr (Cook County)
  • Alderman Ameya Pawar (Chicago, 47th Ward)
  • Chairman Bob Peickert (Democratic Party of DuPage County)
  • President Toni Preckwinkle (Cook County Board of Commissioners)
  • Alderman Carlos Ramirez-Rosa (Chicago, 35th Ward)
  • Alderwoman Susan Sadlowski Garza (Chicago, 10th Ward)
  • Alderman Roderick Sawyer (Chicago, 4th Ward)
  • Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky (IL-9)
  • Chairwoman Ellie Sylvan (West Deerfield Township Democratic Organization)
  • Recorder of Deeds Karen Yarbrough (Cook County)
  • Alderman Scott Waguespack (Chicago, 32nd Ward)
  • Democratic Party of DuPage County
  • Kankakee County Democratic Party

IDCCA President Doug House said “Congressman Ellison has the experience, ability to unify, the vision and fundraising experience with grassroots and large donors to lead the Democratic National Committee. His plan of grassroots organizing and training at the local level are at the core of what the IDCCA does. We are proud to stand with and endorse Keith Ellison.”

Congressman Ellison is a proven organizer throughout the United States. His platform of grassroots organizing, a state and local focus on party building, standing with Organized Labor, accountability and technology are a comprehensive approach that the Democratic Party must embrace.

IDCCA President House said “The IDCCA is a grassroots organization that focuses on Party Building throughout Illinois. Congressman Ellison’s ideas for building the DNC are exactly what we need right now. All eyes will be on Illinois in 2018 as we take on millionaire Governor Bruce Rauner. We are looking forward to working with Congressman Ellison as we take back the Governor’s office in 2018 and in 2020 take back the White House.”

The Illinois Democratic County Chairmen’s Association is a state wide, grassroots Democratic political organization. It is made up of the elected Democratic County Chairmen in all 102 counties in Illinois. The mission of the IDCCA is to help elect Democrats in each county while continuing to grow the Democratic Party in the State of Illinois. Rock Island County Chairman Doug House is the President of the Illinois Democratic County Chairmen’s Association.